The Efficiency Office brings together a team with diverse expertise to work towards the common goal of improving public services. We also work with and through a variety of partners and support teams of Management Services Officers in a number of other policy bureaux and departments. Embracing the idea of collaborating and co-developing with partners, we hire professionals, usually as non-civil service contract staff, commission contractors and consultants, engage focus groups, as well as enroll and coach interns to carry out specific duties. We are also supporting and working with the Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund (SIE Fund) Task Force in adopting social innovation and promoting cross-sector collaboration as a new approach to tackle the problem of poverty and social exclusion.


The Internal Team

The Internal Team

Management Services Officers (MSOs) are the main members of the Efficiency Office. As management consultants, MSOs help policy bureaux and departments find opportunities for improvement, facilitate and implement change, and accelerate innovation and technology adoption for better services. Types of consultancies include business process re-engineering, departmental management reviews, organisational review, performance measurement, design thinking, knowledge management, shared services, public sector innovation, information technology application studies, streamlining of government services and review on business facilitation as well as market and financial analysis.

The Administration Team underpins the work of the Efficiency Office through managing people, finance, IT and records as well as general administration. The team also provides secretarial and administrative support to the Secretariat to the SIE Fund Task Force set up under the Commission on Poverty.

We run a number of our own services for the public and for the Government – 1823; Youth Portal; support to Business Facilitation Advisory Committee and its task forces, Business Liaison Groups, 'Be the Smart Regulator' Programme; General Management Consultancy Services Portal - and we hire a variety of professionals from designers and multi-media producers to marketers and public engagement experts. We learn from their experience and draw on it for other areas of work when needed.


MSO Deployment Outside Efficiency Office


MSOs may be posted to work in different policy bureaux and departments of the Government. They work in close partnership with colleagues of different grades in providing service in the areas of general consulting, resource management and other fields.

General Consulting

Conduct management consultancies (e.g. business process re-engineering studies, organisational reviews) on the services, operations or processes of the departments concerned.

Resource Management

Provide resource management support, assessing proposals for manpower, financial and accommodation resources.

Other Fields

Take up a variety of roles in policy bureaux/departments, such as assisting in the implementation and daily management of information technology systems and equipment, stakeholder engagement and publicity of certain government programmes.

The 1823 team

1823 provides round-the-clock contact centre service for the public by phone, e-mail, apps, web form and other channels, answering general public enquiries for over 20 departments and receiving complaints or reports from the public, directing them to the right agency for action and ensuring that response is made. Frontline customer service staff are backed by a team of professionals who assist in managing the information technology and telecommunication facilities as well as constantly updating the knowledge base that underpins the service.

效率促進辦公室的團隊具備各方面專長,以改進公共服務為共同目標。我們亦與不同夥伴合作,或透過派駐不同決策局和部門的管理參議團隊提供服務。為秉持合作以及與夥伴攜手發展的精神,我們會通過非公務員合約聘請專業人士、委聘承包商和顧問公司、成立專題討論小組,以及招收並培訓實習生協助執行特定職務。目前,我們亦支援社會創新及創業發展基金專責小組的工作,採用以社會創新及推動跨界別協作作為解決貧窮問題和防止社會孤立的新方法。


內部團隊

管理參議主任是效率促進辦公室團隊的主要成員,他們以管理顧問的身分,協助政府各決策局和部門尋找改善機會,促成及實施改革,加快創新及採納科技步伐,以提供更優質的服務。顧問研究的類別包括業務流程重整、部門管理檢討、架構檢討、服務表現衡量、設計思維、知識管理、共享服務、公營機構創新、資訊科技應用研究、「精簡政府服務」計劃及方便營商工作檢討、以及市場和財務分析。

行政團隊負責管理員工、財務、資訊科技、檔案和一般行政工作,也為扶貧委員會轄下的社會創新及創業發展基金專責小組秘書處提供秘書和行政支援。

我們也為公眾和政府提供多項服務,包括1823、政府青少年網站、支援方便營商諮詢委員會及其轄下的工作小組、營商聯絡小組、 "精明規管"計劃、一般管理顧問服務網站。我們聘請不同範疇的專業人士,如設計、多媒體製作、市場推廣和公共關係等等,從他們的經驗中學習,並將所學應用於不同工作。


調派到其他部門的管理參議主任


管理參議主任有機會被調派往其他部門工作。他們與各決策局和部門中不同職系的同事緊密合作,為這些部門提供一般顧問、資源管理或其他領域的服務。

一般顧問

就有關部門的服務、運作或程序進行管理顧問研究(例如業務流程重整研究、架構檢討等)。

資源管理

提供資源管理支援,評估人力、財務和設施資源建議。

其他領域

在決策局和部門擔當各種職責,例如協助推行及管理資訊科技系統和設備、協助若干政府計劃的持份者參與及宣傳工作等。

1823 團隊

1823提供24小時聯絡中心服務,以電話、電郵、應用程式、電子表格及其他渠道回答公眾有關超過20個部門的查詢,接收公眾投訴或報告,轉介適當部門跟進,並確保投訴或報告獲得回應。前線客戶服務人員由一組專業人員支援,他們協助管理資訊科技和電訊設備,並不斷更新支持服務的知識庫。