Launched in mid-2019, the ‘Streamlining of Government Services’ (SGS) Programme aims to improve government services involving applications and approvals through streamlining business processes and widening the adoption of technology on a continuous basis with a view to improving their convenience, efficiency and transparency. The programme was included as one of the initiatives in the 2020 Policy Address.


In 2020-21, 38 bureaux and departments have proposed a total of 80 streamlining measures under the SGS Programme, entailing 117 government services with an estimated total annual transaction volume of 12 million.

The streamlining measures under the SGS Programme will bring improvements around the following areas:

1
Streamlining Business Processes
2
Reducing Documentation Requirements
3
Improving Service Channels
4
Strengthening Communications

Most of the measures focused on improving service channels (66%), followed by reducing documentation requirements (26%), strengthening communications (26%) and streamlining business processes (16%) (Note). Of all the measures, 76% involves the adoption of technology.
(Note: Figures do not add up to 100% as one measure may contribute to one or multiple improvement areas.)

Benefits to both the government and the public entails:

Shortened processing time, reduced manpower efforts, reduced administrative costs, increased ease of accessibility, saved resources of applicants, higher customer satisfaction, improved transparency, greater public accountability

Most of the measures proposed by bureaux and departments are expected to bring service convenience (94%) to the public, followed by improved efficiency (74%) and transparency (35%) (Note).
(Note: Figures do not add up to 100% as one measure may contribute to one or multiple benefits.)

For streamlining measures proposed by bureaux and departments for 2019-20 and list of completed measures, please click here.


INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY (I&T) SOLUTION DAY 2021


To support bureaux and departments in accelerating the provision of e-services, the Efficiency Office, in collaboration with the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation, organised an I&T Solution Day on 31 March 2021. For more information about the event, please click here.


Examples of streamlining measures from bureaux and departments include:


MEASURE: Immigration Department – Application for HKSAR Passport

 

Immigration Department (ImmD) has introduced travel document submission kiosks at the Immigration Headquarters and immigration branch offices since May 2019. Citizens may submit their passport applications at the self-service kiosks equipped with functions of identity authentication, photo-taking, data entry and electronic payment without making a prior appointment.


In addition, citizens are no longer required to furnish supporting documents issued by ImmD in their applications for HKSAR passport as ImmD will verify the information on birth, marriage and adoption from its own records. This brings more convenience to citizens and at the same time, enhances the work efficiency in case assessment.




MEASURE: Hong Kong Housing Authority – Application for Subsidised Sale Flats Schemes

 

The Hong Kong Housing Authority (HA) has developed an electronic platform for receiving applications for various subsidised sale flats schemes, including the Home Ownership Scheme (HOS), White Form Secondary Market Scheme (WSM) and Green Form Subsidised Home Ownership Scheme since the second quarter of 2019. Citizens can submit applications via desktop and mobile devices, pay application fee online and receive acknowledgements by email. In addition, with streamlined business processes, white form applicants can concurrently apply for subsidised sale flats under the HOS and WSM using the same form while Green form applicants can indicate in the application form their consent to carry over their application information to the next subsidised sale flats exercise in case of unsuccessful application without having to submit an application again.


MEASURE: Food and Environmental Hygiene Department – Application for Temporary Storage Service for Cremains

 

The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) has simplified the application procedures for initial application, extending the period of temporary storage and retrieval of cremains. Applicants are no longer required to make payments in-person at Cemeteries and Crematoria (C&C) Offices and submit application forms for the latter two steps. Instead, an online channel has been introduced for applicants to make payment using credit card and PPS. For cremains retrieval, applicants only need to make an appointment by phone and bring along the required documents to relevant C&C Office on the appointed date.


MEASURE: Department of Health – Retrieval and printing of electronic vaccination records

 

The Department of Health (DH) has enhanced its computer system to allow one-stop retrieval and printing of electronic vaccination records under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme (CIP)* by DH staff. The enhanced system offers a centralised web portal for retrieving complete vaccination records which is conducive to efficient prevention and control of infectious diseases. Applicants are no longer required to approach DH service units separately, i.e. Family Health Service, Student Health Service and the School Immunisation Teams, to obtain a complete set of CIP vaccination records.
*for vaccinations received from 2013 onwards

於2019年中展開的「精簡政府服務」計劃 (下稱 “計劃”),旨在透過簡化業務流程和更廣泛採用科技,以持續改善涉及申請和批核的政府服務,務求令服務更便民、有效率和具透明度。計劃為2020年施政報告的其中一項措施。


在2020-21年度,38個決策局/部門提出了80項精簡措施,涵蓋117種政府服務,估計每年使用量達1200萬宗。

計劃下的精簡措施主要在以下範疇帶來改善:

1
精簡業務流程
2
減省申請材料
3
優化服務渠道
4
加強與巿民的溝通

當中大部分措施涉及如何優化服務渠道(66%),其次是減省申請材料(26%),加強與巿民的溝通(26%)和精簡業務流程(16%)()。而在所有措施中, 76%涉及使用科技。
(註:由於每項措施可涉及多於一個改善服務範疇,故分項百分比的總和大於百分之一百。)


各措施為政府和公眾帶來的好處包括:

縮短處理時間、減省人手、降低行政成本、增加服務可達性、節省申請人資源、提升申請人滿意度、改善服務透明度、增強對公眾問責

決策局/部門提出的措施大多數能提高服務便民度(94%),其次是改善效率(74%)及透明度(35%)()。
(註:由於每項措施可帶來多於一個好處,故分項百分比的總和大於百分之一百。)

按此瀏覽有關2019-20年度決策局/部門提出的精簡措施及已完成的精簡措施名單。


創新及科技方案日 2021


為支援各決策局及部門加快提供電子服務,效率促進辦公室聯同香港科技園公司,於2021年3月31日舉辦了創科方案日。有關活動的更多資訊,請按此


決策局/部門精簡措施例子包括:


相關措施: 入境事務處 – 申領香港特區護照

 

入境事務處(入境處)於2019年5月在總部及全港各區辦事處引入申請證件服務站。市民無需預約,便可於具有身份認證、拍攝照片、資料輸入以及電子付款功能的自助服務站辦理特區護照申請。


除此之外,巿民在申請香港特別行政區護照時,無需隨申請一併出示由入境處發出的證明文件。入境處會根據部門紀錄,核對出生、結婚以及領養的資料。這樣可以為巿民帶來更多的方便,同時亦可提升個案評估的工作效率。




相關措施: 香港房屋委員會 – 申請資助出售單位銷售計劃

 

香港房屋委員會(房委會)於2019年第二季推出了一個電子平台,接受各個資助出售單位銷售計劃的申請,包括居者有其屋計劃(居屋)、白表居屋第二市場計劃(白居二)和綠表置居計劃。市民可以通過桌面和移動設備提交申請,網上繳付申請費用及接收申請確認電郵。另外,業務流程精簡後,白表申請人可以使用一份表格同時申請居屋及白居二計劃下的資助房屋,而綠表申請人則可在申請表上選擇是否願意在該次銷售申請未能成功時,將申請資料轉至下一次銷售計劃,而無需再次遞交申請。



相關措施: 食物環境衞生署 – 申請骨灰暫存服務

 

食物環境衞生署簡化申請骨灰暫存、續期及取回的流程。申請人可透過網上繳費系統以信用咭或「繳費靈」繳交費用,而無需親身到墳場及火葬場辦事處繳費。此外,申請續期及取回骨灰時亦不用提交申請表。取回骨灰時,申請人亦只需以電話與相關辦事處職員預約,於取回骨灰當日,帶備所需文件即可完成手續。


相關措施: 衞生署 — 檢索和列印電子疫苗接種記錄

 

衞生署優化其電腦系統讓衞生署人員能一站式檢索和列印「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」(下稱「計劃」)下的電子疫苗接種記錄*。經優化後的電腦系統提供一個中央網上平台以檢索完整的疫苗接種記錄,有利於有效率地預防和控制傳染病。申請人再無需分別前往各個服務單位(即家庭健康服務、學生健康服務及學童免疫注射小組),以獲取「計劃」下完整的疫苗接種記錄。
*由2013年起接種的疫苗記錄