Design thinking is a structured and collaborative process to engage staff and multiple stakeholders to co-create services and improve service experience. The effective application of design thinking in the delivery of public services would further enhance service quality and efficiency, and meet the public needs.


We had participated in the following design thinking projects:

  • One-stop Employment and Training Centre for Labour Department
    • In 2011, by adopting the design thinking approach, Labour Department (LD) pioneered a one-stop employment and training centre in Tin Shui Wai. Apart from the basic job search facilities and employment services typically available at LD’s other job centres, this centre offers a new service model which comprises the assessment of the employment needs of job seekers through a needs assessment tool and the provision of case management and employment support services by a non-governmental organisation commissioned under a service contract.
    • The centre streamlines, integrates and enhances the existing employment and training/retraining services provided by LD, Social Welfare Department and Employees Retraining Board.


  • Hongkong Post User Research and User Centred Design Pilot Project – Mongkok Post Office for Hongkong Post
    • Together with Hong Kong Design Centre, Hongkong Post revamped one of their busiest post offices which is located in Mongkok. By adopting design thinking, they looked into and mapped out the user journey of the citizens from entering into the post office to completing the services they required. Improvements were made such as installing clearer signage, setting up new reception windows, widening customers’ aisle, etc., so as to provide better customer experience, enhance operational efficiency, and broaden the scope for Hongkong Post’s business development.

  • 1823
    • In the 2012 Legislative Council Election, 1823 received 179 000 enquiries from the public on Election Day. Most of the enquiries were related to outdated address information. We used the design thinking approach to reduce the need for enquiries by introducing the following initiatives: stepped up publicity on the impact of outdated address information; launched an Online Voter Information Enquiry System; and set up an Interactive Voice Response System for polling staff to check voter information.
    • These initiatives improved the voting experiences in 2016 Legislative Council Election, and the enquiries 1823 received on Election Day dropped greatly to 2 100.

  • Design of the Hong Kong Exhibition Area in China International Import Expo 2018
    • Under the theme of “Hong Kong In”, the Hong Kong Exhibition Area (HKEA) was set up in the first China International Import Expo held in Shanghai in November 2018. Before detailed design and construction, 12 bureaux/departments were brought together to collaborate and co-design the design principles and key design elements from the perspectives of visitors. The project deliverables contributed a lot in shaping a memorable journey for visitors of the HKEA.
    • Apart from bringing the best visitors’ experiences, the process enabled a group of public officers to experience and practise a new way of solving problems that stresses on empathy, collaboration, and innovation.

設計思維是一個具規範的協作過程,讓員工和各持份者共同設計公共服務及改善服務過程體驗。有效應用設計思維,能夠進一步提升公共服務的質素和成效,並切合和滿足市民需要。


我們參與了以下設計思維項目:

  • 勞工處 — 一站式就業及培訓中心
    • 勞工處於2011年採用設計思維,在天水圍以先導形式設立名為「就業一站」的一站式就業及培訓中心。除了一般勞工處就業中心提供的服務外,「就業一站」著眼於用戶的需求,採取新的服務模式,為求職人士提供全面服務,包括就業服務需要評估及以外判形式委託非政府機構提供個案管理及就業支援服務。
    • 「就業一站」的運作模式加強勞工處、社會福利署及僱員再培訓局的協作,並同時簡化、整合及提升現時所提供的培訓或再培訓服務。

  • 香港郵政用家研究及用家為本設計先導計劃 — 旺角郵政局
    • 香港郵政夥拍香港設計中心,為全港其中一個最繁忙的郵局 — 旺角郵政局進行翻新。項目採用設計思維,了解及模擬市民從進入郵局開始的服務過程體驗,從而提出改善措施。例如,郵局加裝了更清晰及隨不同服務需求而變更的指示牌、新的櫥窗、更寬的顧客通道等,令顧客使用服務時倍感便利,同時提升服務效率,拓香港郵政的業務領域。

  • 1823
    • 在2012年立法會選舉日,1823接獲179 000個查詢, 而大部分查詢有關未有更新選民地址。我們運用設計思維的方法,引入以下措施以減少所需的查詢:加強宣傳未有更新地址的影響;推出網上選民資料查詢系統;以及建立交互式話音回應系統,供票站人員查詢選民資料。
    • 這些措施改善了2016年立法會選舉日選民的投票體驗。1823收到的電話查詢亦大幅減少至2 100個。

  • 設計2018中國國際進口博覽會的香港地區展示區
    • 2018年11月在上海舉辦的首屆中國國際進口博覽會中,香港設立了以「香港 進」為主題的香港地區展示區。在詳細設計及建造該展示區前,十二個政策局及部門共同協作,從訪客的角度共同設計有關設計原則及關鍵的設計元素。項目的成果有助為香港地區展示區的訪客帶來難忘的旅程。
    • 除了為訪客帶來最佳的體驗外,這項目還使參與的公職人員能夠體驗和實踐一套強調同理心、協作和創新的新方法去解決問題。