Business process re-engineering is a means of improving the effectiveness of public services as public needs and expectations change over time, and as innovation in process and technology provides opportunities for changing the way services are delivered.

Re-engineering involves rethinking and redesign of the processes being used to deliver a service in order to achieve the underlying objectives more effectively. At its heart, re-engineering involves stepping outside existing organisational boundaries and seeing the service process and its objectives as a whole, so that opportunity to deliver the service in ways that achieve better outcomes can be found.


To help government agencies – whether individual departments or several departments under one or more policy bureaux – undertake business process re-engineering, we can offer a range of support, including:

Consultancy study

it helps to identify underlying issues and problems and develop practical solutions, whether through adoption of new technology or new service practices.

Implementation

the best recommendations are of no value unless successfully implemented. We can work together with departments to implement recommendations from consultancy studies in a project management or project advisory role, in detailed planning or in system development. We can also assist in the important step of post-implementation review, to help capture learning that can be applied to further improve services.




Some examples of business process re-engineering are:

Project: Business Process Re-engineering Study on Postal Clearance System of the Customs and Excise Department

To support the work of the Customs and Excise Department (C&ED) in safeguarding Hong Kong against smuggling through the postal channel, we assisted the department and the Hongkong Post to review and re-design the business processes of postal clearance as an integral part of the planned development of a new postal clearance system.


Whereas the current mode of operations relies heavily on manual processes, the re-designed business flow is enabled by wider application of automation and technology. With the support of a risk profiling tool, more effective identification of suspicious postal items and institution of enforcement actions can be achieved in the new processes. Laborious process involved in conveying postal items in mail centres can also be eliminated through the use of automated machinery, bringing greater efficiency and more economical use of resources for the departments.



Project: Implementation of e-Service for Permit Application System (ePAS) of the Transport Department

The Transport Department (TD) planned to implement e-Service for application of permits for bus lane, closed road, prohibited zone and restricted zone. We worked with TD to redesign the business process to improve user experience and enhance operational efficiency.


With wider adoption of I&T and redesigned business process, applicants will enjoy a more convenient and user-friendly online service. They will be able to input application data, make renewal applications and submit supporting documents more easily. They can also check the application status online. For TD colleagues, ePAS can create cases automatically, help validate the application data, and assign cases to respective subject officers in district offices according to locations applied. The new process will improve the efficiency in handling permit applications.

公眾對公共服務的需要和期望隨時間變化,而科技創新為改變服務提供的方式締造良機。業務流程重整是一個改善公共服務效益的方法。

流程重整涉及重新思考和重新設計服務提供的流程,務求更有效地達到目標。當中的中心概念包括擺脫現存組織的規限,整體地看待服務的程序和目標,找出能達到更佳成果的機會。


我們可以提供多種支援,協助政府單位--無論是個別部門或一個或多個決策局轄下的不同部門--進行業務流程重整。這些支援包括:

顧問研究

協助找出根本問題和制定實際可行的解決方案,包括採用新技術或新的服務方式。

實施

建議再好,也要成功實施才有價值。我們可以和各部門合作,以項目管理人或項目顧問的角色實施顧問研究中的建議,參與詳細計劃或開發系統。建議實施後,我們可以協助檢討工作,以總結經驗,改良日後服務。




我們支援過的業務重整例子包括:


相關項目: 香港海關郵遞清關系統的業務流程重整研究

為支援香港海關防止經郵遞途徑進行走私活動的工作,我們協助香港海關和香港郵政檢視並重新設計郵遞清關的業務流程,以配合擬開發的新郵政清關系統。


對比現時相當依賴人手處理的運作模式,重新設計的業務流程透過採用更多自動化和科技得以實現。通過運用風險分析工具,新流程能更有效地識別可疑郵包並採取相應執法行動。郵件中心運送郵包所涉及的繁瑣過程亦以自動化機械取代,為兩個部門帶來更高效率和更善用資源。


相關項目: 運輸署 – 推行網上申請許可證服務

運輸署計劃就巴士專線、封閉道路、禁區及限制區推行網上申請許可證服務。我們與運輸署同事一同重新設計了申請流程,在改善用戶體驗的同時,也提升了運輸署的運作效率。


透過更廣泛運用科技及重新設計業務流程,網上申請的手續將會更方便及容易。申請人可以更輕易地輸入申請資料、進行續領申請,以及遞交證明文件。申請人更可以隨時於網上查閱申請進度。另一方面,系統會為網上許可證申請自動開立個案、協助核實資料,以及分派至與申請相關地區的運輸署同事處理。新流程將可以提升處理許可證申請的效率。