Shared Services is a service delivery model which aims to enhance service quality and productivity by consolidating and transferring similar tasks or work processes across multiple agencies to a shared services platform. Accountability and running costs of shared services are borne collectively by the participating agencies. They also need to establish clear and concrete performance indicators with the shared services unit to ensure quality and sufficient services are provided.


Shared services are commonly found in back-office services such as information technology infrastructure, human resources and financial management. It can also be adopted for the provision of front-end services such as applications for financial assistance or licence, as well as enquiry and complaint handling services.


Shared services can bring multi-faceted benefits. Through consolidation and rationalisation of resources and work procedures, better economies of scale and enhanced efficiency in service delivery can be achieved. Citizens can also enjoy one-stop services with consistent standards and levels through the shared services unit.


Project: Development of Trade Single Window in Hong Kong

To uphold Hong Kong’s competitiveness in trade in goods and its position as a logistics hub, the Financial Secretary announced in the 2016 Budget Speech the establishment of a Trade Single Window (SW) as a single platform for the one-stop lodging of all trade documents from the trading community to the Government to facilitate trade declaration and customs clearance. A full-fledged SW platform should cater for the handling of at least 51 trade documents (which involve 5 000 data items) and an annual transaction volume of 94 million.


To support the implementation of this mega project, we have been working closely with the SW Project Management Office under the Commerce, Industry and Tourism Branch of the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau to conduct a business process re-engineering study and to offer advice on stakeholder engagement and change management. These involve bringing in innovative ideas and practical measures to resolve the complexity across the people, process and technology dimensions when building up the shared platform of the SW.

共享服務是一種提供服務的模式,透過將不同部門的類近工種或工作流程加以整合,並交由共享服務平台負責提供,從而提高服務質素和經濟效益。共享服務的責任和成本由所有參與共享服務部門共同承擔。與此同時,參與部門亦需與共享服務單位訂立明確服務指標以確保服務的質和量。


共享服務常見應用於後勤支援服務,例如資訊科技基礎建設、人力資源和財務管理等,亦可包括前端服務如資助計劃或牌照申請,以及查詢和投訴服務等。


共享服務能帶來多方面的好處。對政府而言,透過整合資源、人手和程序,可達致更佳的規模經濟效益及提升服務效率。對市民而言,他們可以透過共享服務單位享受質素和標準一致的一站式服務。


相關項目: 發展貿易單一窗口

為維持香港在貨物貿易方面的競爭力和物流樞紐的地位,財政司司長於2016年預算案演辭中公布設立貿易單一窗口,作為一站式單一平台,方便業界向政府提交所有貿易文件,以便利報關、清關。當單一窗口全面推行後,將可以處理最少51份貿易文件(共涉及5 000項數據)及每年約9 400 萬宗交易。


我們正與商務及經濟發展局轄下工商及旅遊科的貿易單一窗口專責管理辦公室携手合作,為此重要項目進行業務流程重組研究,及對持份者參與和改革管理提供意見,當中涉及引入新思維和實用措施去解決在推行此共用平台時遇到的人力、業務流程及科技應用等範疇上的複雜問題。